Research & Graduate Studies News

Upcoming Events

EventsVisit this site to find out information about research and graduate study related events happening throughout the year.

Visit our seminars page to find listings of scientific talks from both student researchers and invited guest speakers.  In the Spring, look for updated information about the annual Louis C. Littlefield Celebrating Pharmacy Research Excellence Day.  TGPharm, the college’s social event for researchers and faculty, is held twice during each long term semester (more information coming in the Fall).


16th Annual Louis C. Littlefield Celebrating

Pharmacy Research Excellence Day

April 15, 2020

10 am – 4 pm

Carpenter-Winkel Centennial Room Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium

The 16th Annual Louis C. Littlefield Celebrating Pharmacy Re- search Excellence (Research Day) event is sponsored by the Col- lege of Pharmacy (COP) during the university’s research week. This event is free and open to the public. It highlights the research accomplishments of all researchers associated with the COP including undergraduates, Pharm.D. students, honor students, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, residents and faculty.

Research & Graduate Studies News

NewsVisit the College Research News page for the latest headlines about some of the new initiatives emerging from our research labs.



Songyeon Ahn wins the American College of Toxicology’s North American Graduate Fellowship for two years, beginning in 2019.

Her abstract entitled “Obesity and prostate cancer progression: Role of the chemokine CXCL12” has been approved for presentation at the American College of Toxicology’s 40th Annual Meeting and you have been accepted to receive a North American Graduate Fellowship. She will be recognized at the Awards Ceremony and Luncheon on Monday, November 18, 12:00 noon to 2:00 pm during the ACT Annual Meeting in Phoenix, Arizona.


Outstanding Alumnus

The Outstanding Alumni Awards recognize outstanding academic or nonacademic achievements of Graduate School alumni.

Kenneth Ramos, M.D., Ph.D., Pharm.B.
Director, Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Assistant vice chancellor
Texas A&M University System
College of Pharmacy, Ph.D., ’83


Pallavi Kompella wins three awards at the 39th Annual Meeting of the American College of Toxicology!

1) North American Travel Award ($1000)

2) Arthur Furst Best Student Poster of the Year ($2000)

3) Charles River Fast Facts Competition – 3rd Place ($200)


Congratulations to the 2017-2018 Graduates who came to the Pharmacy Reception!

From left to right: Benita Bamgbade, Ahmed Alshehri, Sachin Thakkar, Abbe Haser, Zachary Warnken, Tania Bahamondez-Canas, Siyuan Huang, Kristina Jonsson-Schmunk, Nitish Mittal, Daniel Moraga-Espinoza


Irnela Bajrovic

…wins prestigious WHO internship in Geneva, Switzerland

Working at the World Health Organization (WHO) this summer, I will have the opportunity to participate in the preparation for the annual SAGE (Strategic Advisory Group of Experts) meeting by preparing documents that elucidate ways to overcome the barriers and limitations to uptake and coverage of new vaccines, like the Human Papilloma Virus (HPV) vaccine.




AMCP 2018 Boston Gold Ribbon Winners

Yi Liang & Dr. Joshua Toliver

An Evaluation of Database Studies Published in the Journal of Managed Care & Specialty Pharmacy: Reproducibility Using ISPE-ISPOR Reporting Criteria


Sachin Thakkar
Sachin Thakkar wins two awards at the 2016 AAPS Conference

The AAPS Graduate Student Research Award in Biotechnology and the AAiPS Research Award 2016 (American Association of Indian Pharmaceutical Scientists).


Kristina Jonsson-Schmunk
Kristina Jonsson-Schmunk Completes Merck Future Talent Internship

Read about Kristina’s internship.


Dr. Bill Williams
Pharmaceutics article garners journal honor

Drs. Bill Williams and Siyuan Huang are authors/collaborators in an article recently published and cited by the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences for its “most original and most significant scientific findings.”

Read the pharmaceutics article.

Texas Pharmacy: The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy

Facebook link iconMake a Gift