COFA Distinguished Service Award

The COFA Distinguished Service Award is given annually to a faculty member to recognize outstanding and sustained administrative service to the university, professional organizations and/or the public over the past five years. Examples include leadership, administration, and committee assignments at the department, college, and university; service to professional societies/organizations as editor, program reviewer, or board member; community/public service; peer and student mentoring; faculty/staff/student recruitment and retention; and advocacy for under-represented groups.

This award is not intended to recognize service or administrative work for which the faculty member already receives additional compensation.

Nomination Process

  • Fine Arts faculty and students may nominate candidates for this award using the form available below. Faculty members may not self-nominate. Forms are due to Tim Creswick in the Dean’s Office by Friday, March 8, 2019. Nominees can be tenured or non-tenure track faculty who hold an appointment in the College of Fine Arts.
  • Nominees will be asked to provide a dossier of the following materials:
    • A service statement (two page maximum) describing recent accomplishments
    • A listing of titles and years of service activities over the past five years
    • One letter of recommendation from a peer faculty, community member or national peer organization highlighting administrative service performed regionally or nationally and describing the impact of that service on the university, program and/or professional field. This letter must not come from the nominator.
    • Curriculum Vitae

Selection Process

  • Nominations will be reviewed by a college committee.
  • The winner will be notified in early May.


  • The winner will receive a cash award of $5,000 processed through payroll.
  • The winner will be recognized at the college’s spring commencement ceremony.
  • The winner will be recognized on the COFA website.

18-19-COFA-Award-Nomination-Form (647 kb pdf)

  • This fillable PDF works best in Adobe Reader, Adobe Acrobat DC or as a download on Chrome

Previous Award Winners

  • 2018 – Chris Bain, Department of Art and Art History


Page last updated: 2/6/2019