COFA Distinguished Teaching Award

The College of Fine Arts Distinguished Teaching Award recognizes one faculty member per annum who demonstrates excellence in both graduate and undergraduate teaching.  It is the College’s most prestigious teaching award.

Nomination Process

  • Fine Arts faculty and students may nominate candidates for this award using the form available below. Faculty members may not self-nominate. Forms are due to Tim Creswick in the Dean’s Office by Friday, March 8, 2019. Nominees can be tenured or non-tenure track faculty who hold an appointment in the College of Fine Arts for a minimum of two consecutive years.
  • Nominees will be asked to provide a dossier of the following materials:
    • Statement of teaching philosophy
    • Recent syllabus from a favorite course
    • Two letters of recommendation (one from a current or former student and one from a faculty member)
    • Curriculum vitae (please be sure to include any previous teaching awards)

Selection Process

  • Nominations will be reviewed by a college committee.
  • Insofar as nominations allow, the selection committee will be charged with distributing awards among the many disciplines and teaching contexts found in the college, both creative and scholarly. The committee will be directed to give preference to nominees who have received some prior teaching award from within UT (e.g. Texas Exes Teaching Excellence Award, departmental award, etc.)
  • The winner will be notified in early May.


  • The winner will receive a cash award of $5,000 processed through payroll.
  • The winner will be recognized at the college’s spring commencement ceremony.
  • The winner will be recognized on the COFA website.

18-19-COFA-Award-Nomination-Form (647 kb pdf)

  • This fillable PDF works best in Adobe Reader, Adobe Acrobat DC or as a download on Chrome

Previous Award Winners

  • 2018 – Yevgeniy Sharlat, Butler School of Music
  • 2017 – Charles Anderson, Department of Theatre and Dance
  • 2016 – Penelope Davies, Department of Art and Art History
  • 2015 – Katie Dawson, Department of Theatre and Dance
  • 2014 – Michael Tusa, Butler School of Music
  • 2013 – Ann Johns, Department of Art and Art History
  • 2012 – Lucien Douglas, Department of Theatre and Dance
  • 2011 – Susan Mickey, Department of Theatre and Dance
  • 2010 – Byron Almen, Butler School of Music
  • 2009 – Nathaniel Brickens, Butler School of Music
  • 2008 – Joan Holladay, Department of Art and Art History
  • 2007 – Andrew Dell’Antonio, Butler School of Music
  • 2006 – Ann Reynolds, Department of Art and Art History


Page last updated: 2/6/2019