Summer Language Training Info Sessions (Arizona State University)

Event Date: October 5, 15, 28

In the summer of 2021, the Critical Languages Institute (CLI) at Arizona State University will offer intensive training in 13 less-commonly-taught languages: Albanian, Armenian, Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian, Hebrew, Indonesian, Kazakh, Macedonian, Persian, Polish, Russian, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Uzbek. We know that the challenges of the last six months have exacerbated the pressures faced by our students, our colleagues, and our institutions. In these exceptionally trying times, the experience of CLI 2020 served to reaffirm our belief in the importance of providing high-quality and low-cost language-learning opportunities to the next generation of scholars and practitioners.

Classes at CLI meet 4 four hours a day, 5 days a week and students earn from 8 to 13 transferable credit hours. Experienced native-speaker faculty, small classes sizes, and a focus on communication all play a role in fostering student success; speaking proficiency exit testing has demonstrated that participants make substantial gains in comprehension and fluency. Internal testing at the end of our 7- or 8-week first-year programs showed that nearly 60% of first-year students were able to communicate at the intermediate level or better!

Thanks to a tuition waiver from ASU for all CLI students, students in first-year courses taking 8-10 credits pay $1500 in program fees, with need- and merit-based awards reducing the cost for many. With Title VIII awards for well-qualified U.S. graduate students, Project GO awards for ROTC students taking Russian or Indonesian, and Melikian Center scholarships funded by generous donors and open to all applicants, CLI makes intensive language study and study abroad accessible to participants of diverse socioeconomic backgrounds. In 2020, nearly 60% of CLI students received some level of need-based or merit-based funding.

For more information, and to hear from CLI students about their experience, please visit the website: https://melikian.asu.edu/cli

We will hold 3 Zoom information sessions on the CLI program and available funding.

  • CLI 2021 Information Sessions Schedule:
    • 9 am MST (same as PDT)/12 pm EDT on Monday, October 5th
    • 12 pm MST (same as PDT)/3 pm EDT on Thursday, October 15th
    • 3 pm MST (same as PDT)/6 pm EDT on Wednesday, October 28th
  • Zoom link: https://asu.zoom.us/j/2701366602

If you are not able to join us for an information session, you can contact us at cli@asu.edu to ask questions or set up a meeting.