Crismon Research

Dr. Crismon is Dean, James T. Doluisio Regents Chair and Behrens Centennial Professor at The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy.  He also teaches clinical psychopharmacology for the psychiatry residency program and the child and adolescent psychiatry fellowship for the Dell Medical School, Seton Healthcare Family.

Dr. Crismon received his BS degree in Pharmacy from The University of Oklahoma and his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from a joint program of The University of Texas at Austin and The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.  He completed residencies in pharmacy practice at the USPHS Gallup Indian Medical Center and in psychiatric pharmacy practice at The University of Texas and San Antonio State Hospital, and completed a National Endowment for the Humanities–funded summer fellowship in biomedical ethics, with a focus in cross cultural ethics, at the Kennedy Institute for Ethics, Georgetown University.  He served as a visiting professor for the Institute of Mental Health, National Health Group, Singapore, and for the pharmacy program at the University of Technology, Kingston, Jamaica.  He is board certified in psychiatric pharmacy by the Board of Pharmacy Specialties, and he is a Diplomate of the American Board of Clinical Pharmacology.

His research, scholarship, and practice have focused on the development and evaluation of strategies to improve the pharmacotherapy, pharmacoeconomics, and health outcomes of adults and children with severe mental disorders.  Dr. Crismon served as Co-Director of the Texas Medication Algorithm Project and as Director of the Children’s Medication Algorithm Project.  During his career he has received research grants from federal agencies, the State of Texas, nonprofit foundations, and the pharmaceutical industry.  Since 2004 he has co-chaired the development and revisions of the Psychotropic Medication Utilization Parameters for Children and Youth in Foster Care for the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services, with the 5th edition published in 2016.  He is a consultant for the REACH Institute, NYC, NY, member of the Board of Directors for the National Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology and Education (NIPTE), the Board for Longhorn Village, and chair of the advisory board for RxWiki.

Prior to becoming dean in 2007, Dr. Crismon developed a nationally recognized training program in psychiatric pharmacotherapy and mental health outcomes research.  He supervised 39 post Pharm.D. psychiatric pharmacy residents, research fellows, or graduate students.  He served as supervisor for the ASHP Foundation Psychiatric Drug Therapy Research Fellowship (twice), the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) Psychopharmacy Research Fellowship, U.S. Pharmacopoeia Fellowship, and the NIMH F 32 post professional doctorate research training award.  Seven of his research trainees were awarded New Investigator Awards by the NIMH at the New Clinical Drug Evaluation Unit Meeting.  In addition to over 250 articles, chapters, or handbooks to his credit, he has over 200 abstracts in print or in press, and has delivered more than 400 invited lectures or presentations.  He served as associate editor of the APhA Drug Treatment Protocols, 2nd edition and as a member of the editorial advisory board for The Annals of Pharmacotherapy.  He currently serves as a member of the editorial boards for the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA) and the APhA DrugInfoLine, and is a reviewer for numerous journals.

Dr. Crismon is a past chair of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Council of Deans, and past member of the AACP Board of Directors.  He served as a member of the ACCP Board of Regents, the ACCP Research Institute Board of Trustees, and he is an ACCP fellow.  A past chair of the ASHP Specialty Practice Group on Psychopharmacy and the task force to recognize psychiatric pharmacy as a specialty by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties (BPS), he was the first chair of the BPS Specialty Council on Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice.  He is a past president and past treasurer of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists (TSHP) and the TSHP R&E Foundation.  He is a recipient of the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumnus Award, the Robert G. Leonard Memorial Lecture Award, the Philip C. and Ethyl F. Ashby Endowed Lecture Award, the CPNP Judith K. Saklad Lecture Award, the Creighton University Rho Chi Lecture Award; he was the 2010 Teacher of the Year for the UT Southwestern Medical Center – Austin Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship, and a First Tennessee Chair of Excellence Distinguished Visiting Professor, College of Pharmacy, The University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center.

Facebook link iconMake a Gift
Texas Pharmacy: The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy