Author Archives: KS

Congrats to Ruijie Peng & Vivian Shaw!

More great news!

Graduate Fellow Ruijie Peng received the Society for the Study of Social Problems Labor Studies Division Student Paper Award for her article,
“One Transnational Project, Two Labor Regimes: The Workers’ Experience with
Labor Process and Racialization on a Chinese Hydroelectric Project in Ecuador”

In addition, Graduate Fellow Vivian Shaw has published an article, “How Fukushima gave rise to a new anti-racism movement” in Al Jazeera on her research in Japan.


Congrats to fellow starting new jobs!

Please join us in celebrating the former Graduate Fellows who are starting many exciting positions this fall!

Kate Averett – Assistant Professor of Sociology, University at Albany, SUNY

Caity Collins – Assistant Professor of Sociology, Washington University in St. Louis

Erika Grajeda – Postdoctoral Research Fellow, CUNY

Pamela Neumann – Postdoctoral Fellow in the Stone Center for Latin American Studies, Tulane University

Marcos Pérez – Postdoctoral Fellow, Colby College

Jen Scott– Assistant Professor in the College of Human Sciences & Education School of Social Work, Louisiana State University

Christine Wheatley – Assistant Professor of Sociology, Southern Methodist University

Amina Zarrugh – Assistant Professor of Sociology, Texas Christian University

Congrats to Kate Averett!

Kate Averett was recently awarded the 2014 Martin P. Levine Fellowship from the ASA Section on Sexualities.  Her winning dissertation proposal–entitled“Gender, Sexuality, the Family, and Homeschooling”–examines changing discourses of childhood gender and sexuality in the United States, looking at the motivations of parents who homeschool their children to reveal some of the ways that gender and sexuality factor in to parents’ decisions about what children need and who can best provide it.

Congrats, Kate!

Summer 2014 graduate fellow awards

Congratulations to Caity Collins and Jacinto Cuvi for being awarded Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grants from the National Science Foundation!

Congrats also to Katie Sobering for being awarded a Fulbright Student Grant to complete her research in Argentina and Kate Averett for being awarded the prestigious Martin P. Levine Memorial Dissertation Award for her work in the sociology of sexuality.

Finally, a big congrats to Jen Scott on her many awards and achievements from the spring and summer of 2014.  These include a UT Graduate School Named Endowed Continuing Fellowship, the P.E.O. International Graduate Scholar Award, the National Association of Social Workers Eileen Blackey Doctoral Fellowship and the American Association of University Women Austin Branch Doctoral Fellowship for 2014. In addition, Jen will be a Visiting Graduate Student Scholar Fellowship at the Center for Poverty Research at UC Davis in 2014.

More awards for our graduate fellows!

We have more good news!

Caitlyn Collins has been awarded a PhD Research Grant on EU Public Policy from the Center for European Studies.

Jessica Dunning-Lozano has accepted the Marilyn Yarbrough Teaching Fellowship at Kenyon College. She also recently won the 2014 SSSP Educational Problems Division Graduate Student Paper Prize. The winning paper was an improved version of the manuscript she work-shopped in the lab.




Spring 2014 awards for our fellows!

Congrats to our Graduate Fellows who have won a number of prestigious awards this spring!  

Jorge Derpic who was awareded a grant from the Foundation for Urban and Regional Studies at Oxford University and the Inter-American Foundation (IAF) Dissertation Fellowship. Jessica Dunning Lozano was selected to receive the National Academy of Education/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship for the 2014-2015 academic year.  Since only thirty awards were made from a pool of over 400 applicants, this award is a strong expression of the organizations’ confidence in your potential contribution to the history, theory, or practice of education. Marcos Perez received the very competitive Doctoral Dissertation grant from National Science Foundation. Last but not least, Esther Sullivan was awarded the American Fellowships from the American Association of University Women.

Congrats again to you all!