Diane B. Ginsburg, Ph.D., R.Ph., FASHP

Biographical Information

Dr. Ginsburg completed her B.S. in Pharmacy at the University of Pittsburgh School in 1984 and a M.S. at the University of Houston College of Pharmacy in 1990. She completed a two-year ASHP-accredited residency in hospital pharmacy administration in 1987 at The Methodist Hospital in Houston, Texas. She received her Doctor of Philosophy degree in higher education administration and leadership in the College of Education at the University of Texas at Austin. She is currently a Clinical Professor in the Division of Health Outcomes and Pharmacy Practice and Assistant Dean for Student Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin, College of Pharmacy.

Dr. Ginsburg has been active with ASHP and served as President and a 3-year term on the Board of Directors. She has served ASHP in several capacities including: Chair, Council on Educational Affairs, Editorial Advisory Board of the American Journal of Health-Systems Pharmacists, Texas Delegate, Co-Coordinator National Clinical Skills Competition. She served on various Practice Interest Advisory Panels and was a Member of the Advisory Panel that was instrumental in forming the ASHP Student Forum. She also served as Chair of the ASHP Research and Education Foundation Board of Directors. She is the Editor-in-Chief of ASHP’s PharmPrep Interactive Case-Based Review as well as an author and editor of ASHP’s Preceptor’s Handbook for Pharmacists. Dr. Ginsburg has also been active with other pharmacy organizations including the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy (AMCP). With AMCP, she served as a Contributing Editor and Member of Journal of Managed Care Pharmacy Editorial Advisory Board; Chair of the AMCP Schools of Pharmacy Relations Committee and on the AMCP Legislative Affairs Committee.

She is a Past President of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists (TSHP) and has served TSHP in the following capacities: Secretary; Chair, Communication and Public Affairs Councils; Seminar Co-Chair 1990 & 1997; and Vice President of the TSHP Research & Education Foundation. She has received several honors and awards from TSHP including the TSHP Mentor Award, Pharmacist Recognition Award, and Health-System Pharmacist of the Year Award. She was honored by the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy and received the 2005 Distinguished Alumnus Award. She is also a Past President of the Austin Area Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Dr. Ginsburg is internationally known for her work on communication skills, ethics, and the legal and regulatory aspects of pharmacy and healthcare.


See also Dr. Ginsburg’s CV.