HW Perry: Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Honoring excellence in teaching at the undergraduate level, The University of Texas at Austin announced the 2018 inductees into its prestigious Academy of Distinguished Teachers.

H.W. Perry was one of four inductees nominated by the dean and selected through a rigorous evaluation process. The selection process is led by a committee comprised of current members of the Academy, other faculty peers, students and administrators.

Members are awarded the title Distinguished Teaching Professor and serve for the duration of their tenure at UT Austin.

Established in 1995, the Academy of Distinguished Teachers is emblematic of the university’s commitment to excellence in teaching. Comprising of approximately five percent of tenured faculty, the Academy provides leadership to improve the quality and depth of the undergraduate experience.

“It is an honor to recognize these four outstanding members of our faculty,” said Maurie McInnis, executive vice president and provost. “Their commitment to teaching and improving the student experience in the classroom is exceptional and inspiring.”

Members of the Academy advise the president and provost on matters related to the university’s instructional mission, participate in seminars, colloquia, lead workshops on teaching effectiveness and serve as mentors to new faculty.

The Academy supports the teaching mission by:

  • Honoring and rewarding excellence in teaching
  • Enhancing teaching effectiveness, particularly at the undergraduate level
  • Creating a central core of teachers who can serve as a resource and an inspiration for other teachers
  • Selecting a body of faculty who can promote a sense of community among teachers, foster research on effective college teaching and learning, and advise the institution on teaching policies and practices

The inductees will be honored at the annual Academy of Distinguished Teachers dinner in October.