August 23rd, 2012  |  Published in Uncategorized

On October 16, 2012 the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin announced the Energy Efficiency Incentive Grants Program for 2012-2013.

The deadline for applications was November 30, 2012. The program received twenty-one applications, which were forwarded to an independent team of five expert reviewers. The committee went through a three-step review process that culminated in a meeting at the end of January at which it made final recommendations to the LBJ School. The School accepted all the recommendations. The proposals selected for funding are listed on a separate tab.

All projects are expected to be completed by July 2013.

The remainder of this page, and all the related tabs except for Recommendations for Awards, are part of the original announcement and will remain on this site until the program is completed.


The LBJ School is collaborating with Randall Manteufel, Ph.D., professor of engineering at the University of Texas at San Antonio, in the implementation of this program. Funding for this program came from the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

The original Request for Proposals can be found by clicking on the tab above.

An entity was eligible to apply for an Energy Efficiency Incentive Grant if it is a county, city, school district, community college district, or irrigation district in any of the 28 counties in the southern border region of Texas listed on the tab above titled “Summary of Eligibility”.

The tabs above also offer access to other relevant documents for the program (including the Application Form), and additional information about energy efficiency that may be of interest.

Instructions regarding the submission of applications are listed on the Application Form page.