The first students of the College’s Option II Program completed their studies and earned the Master of Science degree.

College of Pharmacy History, The University of Texas at Austin1991

The College helped dedicate the new Robert F. McDermott Clinical Science Building in San Antonio which included teaching and research facilities for the San Antonio Clinical Program.


The college organized committees to plan and implement programs and events for its Centennial Observance under the direction of chairpersons Cynthia E. Standefer and William I. Dismukes.

College of Pharmacy History, The University of Texas at Austin1993

The College celebrated 100 years of excellence through a year-long observance of its centennial anniversary.


Faculty approved a new curriculum for the Pharm.D. program that was designed to increase the accessibility of the Pharm.D. degree as an entry-level degree option in keeping with national trends.


Plans were completed to enroll the 1996 entering class in the new fully integrated professional curriculum, one designed for both B.S. and Pharm.D. candidates with an interdisciplinary approach to disease management.

College of Pharmacy History, The University of Texas at Austin


Patrick Davis, associate dean of the college became the first pharmacy faculty member inducted into the University of Texas Academy of Distinguished Teachers, an elite body recognized as the “best of the best” teachers at the university.


College of Pharmacy History, The University of Texas at AustinRenovations were completed on a large state-of-the art electronic classroom in the Pharmacy Building, the second of its type on the UT-Austin campus. It was designed to accommodate both instructors’ and students’ computer and interactive television needs with computer network connections, microphones at each seat, and a fully electronic podium.

College of Pharmacy History, The University of Texas at Austin


For the first time in a quarter-century, the College of Pharmacy experienced a change in leadership as Steven W. Leslie, a faculty member within the College since 1974, was named the tenth dean of UT pharmacy by UT President Larry Faulkner. Dean Leslie, a research scholar internationally recognized for his work in alcoholism and alcohol abuse, assumed the pharmacy deanship on September 1, 1998.


The first all Pharm.D. class began studies in Fall 1999, following a national trend toward the Pharmacy Doctorate (Pharm.D.) as the preferred entry-level degree program in pharmacy education. The college also announced a collaborative venture with the three other colleges of pharmacy in Texas to offer TxPHARM, a non-traditional program designed to meet the needs of practicing pharmacists in Texas who wish to enhance their knowledge, skills, and credentials to the Pharm.D. level.

Facebook link iconMake a Gift
Texas Pharmacy: The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy