DiGiovanni earns Research Excellence Award

On October 30, 2018, the University Co-operative Society and The University of Texas at Austin Office of the Vice President for Research honored the winners of the Robert W. Hamilton Book Awards and the University Co-operative Society’s Research Excellence Awards. One of the top winners of the evening was College of Pharmacy professor and researcher Dr. John DiGiovanni, who earned 2018’s Career Research Excellence Award.

(From left to right) Dean M. Lynn Crismon, Dr. John DiGiovanni, Dr. Karen Vasquez, and Dr. John Richburg at the University Co-op Awards.

Guests met at the Blanton Museum of Art to honor the evening’s winners. The Career Research Excellence Award recognizes sustained outstanding research achievement by a faculty member or permanently employed staff researcher over many years. Nominees should have received national and/or international recognition for excellence in their area of specialization, or in interdisciplinary or hybrid areas that include their specialties, and those accomplishments should be well documented. The grand prize winner receives $10,000.

John DiGiovanni, Ph.D. is Professor in the College of Pharmacy’s Pharmacology and Toxicology Division, holder of the Coulter R. Sublett Chair in Pharmacy, Professor of Pediatrics in the Dell Medical School, Director of the Center for Molecular Carcinogenesis and Toxicology (CMCT), and Associate Director for Basic Research in the Livestrong Cancer Institutes. Dr. DiGiovanni has been continuously funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for 37 years for his innovative research on mechanisms of producing and preventing cancer, and has over 350 publications to his credit.

Congratulations to Dr. DiGiovanni and all of the 2018 award winners.

Dr. DiGiovanni accepts his award on stage during the University Co-op Awards.

Dr. DiGiovanni talks with College of Pharmacy Assistant Dean for Development & Alumni Relations Susan Brown.

A shot of the awards.