Category: Research News

Team earns honors at Clinical Research Challenge

A team of three UT student pharmacists placed among the elite programs in a national Clinical Research Challenge (CRC). The event, sponsored by the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), attracted more than 80 teams from colleges across the country. 

Four students to attend alcohol treatment program

Four student pharmacists from the College of Pharmacy have been selected to study addiction and its treatment in weeklong summer programs sponsored by the Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation. Student pharmacists Janci Addison, Claire Brandt, Kaitlin Kennedy and Mandy Renfro will participate in the

Of mother and sons – a shared love of pharmacy

The Jermain family Donna’s story My story began as I entered The University of Texas at Austin. I was considering pursuing medicine and was looking for a complimentary major that would help me in medical school. My counselor suggested pharmacy.

DiGiovanni joins LIVESTRONG team

John DiGiovanni, the Coulter R. Sublett Endowed Chair in Pharmacy, has been appointed as associate director of basic research at the LIVESTRONG Cancer Institutes of the Dell Medical School effective May 1. DiGiovanni will maintain his primary faculty appointment as

Wilcox named 2017 educator of the year

Dr. Richard Wilcox, professor of pharmacology and toxicology, has been named Educator of the Year for the College of Pharmacy.  The announcement was one of several teaching awards to college faculty announced recently at the student-sponsored awards ceremony. Other honorees

Research Day 2017 celebrates discovery

The art and science of discovery took center stage at The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy on April 11. Lectures by distinguished researchers kicked off the 13th Annual Louis C. Littlefield Celebrating Pharmacy Research Excellence Day. The

Longhorn Pharmacy Focus Spring 2017


Erickson honored by AAAS

Dr. Carlton Erickson, the Pfizer Centennial Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology, has been named to life membership by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). In making the announcement, AAAS cited Ericsson’s 50 years of membership, beginning in 1967.

Texas Health Catalyst honors Croyle

Dr. Maria Croyle, professor of molecular pharmaceutics and drug delivery, is one of three researchers selected to receive funding from the Texas Health Catalyst, a program of The University of Texas at Austin’s Dell Medical School in collaboration with UT’s

Study suggests enzyme safely starves cancer cells

A University of Texas at Austin research team that includes Dr. John DiGiovanni, professor of pharmacology and toxicology, has engineered an enzyme that safely treats prostate and breast cancer in animals, and also lengthens the lifespan of models that develop