Student Affairs Standouts

Keren Aleman of University Health Services earned her American Association of Professional Coders (AAPC) Medical Coding Certification. This credential demonstrates proficiency in coding and billing for healthcare claims to ensure accurate reimbursement from insurance plans.

Erin Burrows, Counseling and Mental Health Center, received the Lynn Milburn Award, granted by the Pride & Equality Faculty and Staff Association. The recognition was part of the Lavender Graduation ceremony. Burrows also authored an article entitled “Spotlight on Campus Sexual Violence Prevention and Response” for the May/June edition of the Sexual Assault Report.

Cecilia Lopez Cardenas & Marian Trattner at the New Professionals Institute

Cecilia Lopez Cardenas & Marian Trattner at the New Professionals Institute

Cecilia Lopez Cardenas, University Unions, and Marian Trattner, Counseling and Mental Health Center, were selected to attend the NASPA (Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education) Region III / Southern Association for College Student Affairs (SACSA) New Professionals Institute at the University of Alabama – Huntsville.

Sean Conway, University Unions, received the Association of College Unions International (ACUI) Region II Scholarship to attend the Indiana Professional Development Seminar (IPDS): New Professionals Orientation at the University of Michigan.

Joshua Cook, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, participated in a panel discussion on “How Media Influences Culture” hosted by Housing and Food Service.

Housing and Food Service received the Bronze Award from The National Association of College & University Food Services (NACUFS) for the Most Innovative Wellness & Nutrition Program in the 2014 Nutrition Awards contest for its submission of March’s National Nutrition Month campaign.

Robert Reed, Me’Linda Ross, LeAnn Gutierrez and Theresa Spalding, University Health Services, presented “Preparing Your Campus Health Center for ICD-10” at the American College Health Association 2014 Annual Meeting in San Antonio.

Audrey Sorrells, Office of the Dean of Students, presented “Reclaiming the Scholar” in Scholar-Practitioner at NASPA Region III Summer Symposium, Lake Buena Vista, Fla., on June 10.

Leadership Institute Graduates

Leadership Institute Graduates

Ronnie J. Ruiz, Aaron Voyles, Donald R. Ates, Libby DeSantiago, Louis Episcopo, George T. Fuquay, Kristin L. McGowan, Richard K. Bredahl, Sarah M. Downing and LT Robinson, Housing and Food Service, completed the requirements of the Housing and Food Service Leadership Institute and were presented their Leadership Certificate and Medallion May 28. As a part of the ceremony each graduate gave a five-minute presentation on “My Leadership Journey.”

Brandy Whitten, University Health Services, was elected for a third term to represent The University of Texas at Austin on the UT System-Wide Insurance Advisory Committee.