Krystyna Davenport Brown and Kristina Bachman, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, both received Stellar Speaker recognition several weeks after their presentation at the April Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Region IV Conference in Austin.

Sierra Castedo, The Center for Students in Recovery, presented “Leveraging Technology to Engage Students in Recovery” at the Association of Recovery in Higher Education (ARHE) national conference. She also served on a panel titled “Statewide Efforts to Support Collegiate Recovery.”

Susan Hochman, University Health Services, presented “Thinking Outside the Patient Satisfaction Box: Strategic Assessments to Support Quality, Patient-Centered Care and Communications” at the American College Health Association 2015 Annual Meeting in Boston. Hochman was appointed as a member at large to the board of directors for the association.

Robert Reed, University Health Services, presented “HIPAA, FERPA and the Campus Health Center” at the American College Health Association 2015 Annual Meeting in Boston alongside colleagues from The University of Kansas and Texas A&M University.

Jamie Shutter, University Health Services, presented “Administration Hot Topics: Are We Ready to Defend College Health,” at the American College Health Association 2015 Annual Meeting in Boston with Katrin Wesner of The University of North Carolina–Wilmington.

Gale Stuart, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, presented “Engaging Our Campuses in Using Data: Successes and Lessons Learned” at the 2015 Association for Institutional Research (AIR) Forum in Denver, Colorado along with colleges from the University of Iowa, University of Minnesota and University of Virginia.

The Center for Students in Recovery received a shout out in the White House’s Office of National Drug Control Policy newsletter for their part in making the UT System a national leader in collegiate recovery programs.

Spring 2015 Housing and Food Service Leadership Institute graduates

Spring 2015 Housing and Food Service Leadership Institute graduates

The following staff members completed the requirements of the Housing and Food Service (DHFS) Leadership Institute. The program provides relevant and challenging leadership development opportunities for supervisors and emerging leaders:

Eva Barba Richard Dixon Samuel Siner
Christina Bomar Cynthia Goodwin Sheril Smith
Charlotte Bryan Justin Jaskowiak Arthur Sneed
Patricia Burgess Ernest Owney Darla Stewart
Jorge Calderon Randall Porter Lela Williams
Dara L. Chandler Adrian Reynoso Jonathan A. Yeo
Blanca Cruz Justin Samuel Denise Zuniga


“A Tip of the Hat to…”

LT Robinson, who received the following note from student employee Sarah-Rose MacDonough: “I want to express how much I appreciate you as my boss for the past year. You have inspired me in so many ways, and I’m sure will continue to do so next year. LT, you are such a kind and passionate person and working under you has made me strive for your level of dedication.”

The President’s Staff Awards

A total of 76 staff members from across the Division were honored during the 2015 President’s Staff Awards ceremony for their combined 1,305 years of service to The University of Texas at Austin. A full list of Division recipients is below.

2015 Outstanding Supervisor Award

Jane Bost, CMHC (retired)

Counseling and Mental Health Center

Keith Arrington, 15 years

Janet Bensman, 20 years

Catherine Hubbard, 25 years

Michelle Rivera, 15 years

Housing & Food Service

Guadalupe Almanza, 10 years

Remedios Avila, 10 years

Guadalupe Banda, 15 years

Richard Bredahl, 20 years

Philemon Brown, 15 years

Willis Brown, 15 years

Thomas Campbell, 10 years

Angela Carbajal, 15 years

Juana Castro, 10 years

Juanita Cerda, 20 years

Dara Chandler, 15 years

Jaime Chinchilla, 10 years

Douglas Clary, 15 years

Mary Cortez-Vega, 25 years

Jose Cueva, 10 years

John Dierdorf, 30 years

Leopoldo Flores, 25 years

John Gonsoulin, 10 years

Edgar Gonzalez, 10 years

Francisco Guzman, 25 years

John Halaburt, 15 years

Frances Hernandez, 25 years

Keith Hill, 25 years

Kathleen Hutchins, 15 years

Maria Ipina, 10 years

Joseph Leonor, 30 years

Antonia Martinez, 20 years

Ana Martinez, 10 years

Bill Murry, 15 years

Fernando Navarrete, 10 years

Albino Perez, 15 years

Leon Perez, 15 years

Melody Perry,  25 years

Randall Porter, 20 years

Paul Previte, 20 years

Evangelina Robledo, 15 years

Lorena Rodriguez, 15 years

Rene Rodriguez, 15 years

Dawanna Scott, 10 years

Irma Segura, 10 years

Thelma Segura, 20 years

Beverly Sutton, 10 years

Juan Tamez, 35 years

Linda Thompson, 20 years

Martina Villegas, 10 years

Brenda Wallace, 15 years

Anthony Ward, 10 years

Reba White, 35 years

Gloria Zarate, 10 years

Yasmina Zuniga, 15 years

Denise Zwiener, 20 years

Office of the Dean of Students

Douglas Garrard, 25 years

Latoya Hill, 10 years

Araceli Nieto, 35 years

Raymond Schiflett III, 20 years

Recreational Sports

Nilka Campos, 10 years

Thomas Dison, 40 years

Darci Doll, 20 years

Travis Hilterbran, 15 years

Lanay Kibodeaux, 10 years

Robbie Reed, 30 years

University Health Services

Sherry Bell, 35 years

Carmen Gomez, 10 years

Sharon Guyton, 10 years

Catherine Holder, 20 years

David Laczko, 10 years

Benjamin Lara, 10 years

Robin Merket, 10 years

Norma Naghaviani, 10 years

Jamie Shutter, 25 years

Vicki Solis, 10 years

Marilyn Wilson, 15 years