Fall 2012 On-Campus Job Interviews

Here is a list of where our job candidates have had (or have scheduled) on-campus job interviews to date:

University of Georgia

University of Oklahoma-Norman

University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Texas State University

University of Maryland-Baltimore County

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

University of Miami

Colorado Christian College

James Madison University

Sorace Wins Fulbright-Hays

Christian Sorace has received a Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Research Fellowship. He is doing fieldwork in Sichuan, China. His is researching the aftermath of the 2008 Sichuan earthquake, and how the Chinese state’s reconstruction plan impacted and shaped grassroots politics. By focusing on varieties of disaster reconstruction political economy, Sorace hopes to shed light on the regime’s vision for developing the countryside, rural politics, and state-society relations in China more broadly.

Media Coverage of Trey Thomas Paper

No APSA conference this year, but the paper Trey Thomas would have presented, coauthored with Tim LaPira, is getting media coverage from Politico and National Journal. The paper, ”Revolving Doors: Assessing Lobbyists’ Government Experience Across Policy Communities in Washington,” reveals that lobbyists are, in violation of the law, often failing to report previous government experience.


Jeremy Fortier Wins Powers Dissertation Fellowship

Jeremy Fortier has won a prestigious William Powers, Jr. Graduate Dissertation Fellowship. The Powers Dissertation Fellowship is one of the highest awards offered to continuing graduate students at The University of Texas at Austin.

Fortier studies political philosophy under Thomas Pangle, and his research investigates the relationship between morality and politics. His dissertation focuses on Nietzsche, who Fortier argues points the way toward a new and more nuanced understanding of the relation between morality and politics.

External Fellowships Won for 2012-13

Several graduate students have won prestigious fellowships in support of their dissertation research.

Matthew Rhodes-Purdy has received a Fulbright award to support his dissertation research in Chile.

Steven Brooke has been awarded a Jennings Randolph Peace Scholarship by the United States Institute of Peace to support his dissertation research in Egypt on Islamist groups’ provision of social services.

Ayca Arkilic has won a Chateaubriand Fellowship from the French Embassy, Kai-ping Huang has received a fellowship from the Taiwan Ministry of Education, and William McCormick has won an Intercollegiate Studies Institute Richard M. Weaver Fellowship.

Department and University Fellowships for 2012-13

Many graduate students have been awarded fellowships from the department of government or the graduate school for all or part of the upcoming academic year. Daniel Nogueira-Budny, Pete Mohanty, and Katherine Bersch will receive graduate school continuing fellowships. William Blake, Abby Blass, Riitta Koivumaeki, Christian Sorace, and Rachel Sternfeld have been awarded Malcolm Macdonald fellowships.

Loret de Mola Participates in Iberoamerican Summit

In October, Gustavo Rivera Loret de Mola particpated in the youth forum of the Iberoamerican Summit. He worked as facilitator and moderator, helping draft a resolution that was presented to the region’s chiefs of state and government of the region. Gustavo met the executive secretaries of the OECD and CEPAL, and the presidents of Paraguay, Mexico, Bolivia, Spain, and Portugal. He is pictured above outside Paraguay’s legislative assembly.

Meyer Receives Open-Pool Admittance to IQMMR

Johnny Meyer received open-pool admittance to the 2012 Institute for Qualitative and Multi-Method Research. Open-pool admittance is highly selective, with at least 12 applicants for each spot. Meyer attends UT on a three-year National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fel-lowship, the most prestigious fellowship available to an American graduate student. His ongoing research project tries to understand the conditions in which illicit market participants engage in political violence.

2011-12 Graduate Student Department Fellowships

Macdonald Dissertation Fellowships (full year):
Huseyin Alptekin
Matthew Buehler
Kody Cooper
Jessica Price
L. Matthew Vandenbroek
Michelle Wolfe

Macdonald Dissertation Fellowships (half year):
Jacqueline Hunsicker
Ilana Lifshitz
Amanda Skuldt
Eric Svensen
Randy Uang
Mark Verbitsky
Allison White

2011-12 Graduate Student External Fellowships and Grants

Boren Fellowships:
Katherine Bersch Emma Deputy
J.J. Kinkel
Yuval Weber

Carnegie Research Fellowship:
Yuval Weber

Earhart Fellowship:
Laura Rabinowitz

Daniel Nogueira-Budny

SSRC Middle East Political Science Travel Grant:
Emma Deputy

NSF Dissertation Improvement Grant:
L. Matthew Vandenbroek

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship
Johnny Meyer

NSF/TESS Grant (Time-Sharing Experiments in the Social Sciences):
Austin Hart (with Joel Middleton, NYU)

Social Science Humanities Research Council of Canada:
Jeremy Fortier

Deputy Wins Robinson Award

Emma Deputy received the 2010 Southwestern Political Science Association Ted Robinson Award for her paper “Anti-Gamila: The Politics of Sexual Harassment in Cairo.” Deputy has also been awarded a SSRC Middle East Political Science Travel Grant and been elected to the Middle East Studies Association Graduate Student Committee.

Alumna Establishes Planned Gift to Department

The Department of Government is indebted to Betty Dooley Awbrey, who has agreed to a planned estate gift in honor of her father, Claude Dooley, to support graduate fellowships in the Department of Government. Betty Awbrey received her B.A. in Government in 1970, received M.A. degrees from Texas Tech and UT-San Antonio and made a career as a public educator. This is the type of private philanthropy that can take the Department of Government to the next level. The entire department extends its thanks to Betty Awbrey.

Graduate Excellence Fund Established

The Board of Regents has approved creation of the The Melvin J. Hinich Excellence Fund for Graduate Students in the Department of Government. This excellence fund, in honor of our late colleague, professor and friend Mel Hinich, has come to fruition thanks to the leadership of our dedicated faculty, alumni, Mel’s friends and family and Dean Randy Diehl, who matched our faculty donations.