Vasquez Honored by AAAS

Dr. Karen VasquezDr. Karen Vasquez, professor of pharmacology and toxicology, is among five faculty members at The University of Texas at Austin recently elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Vasquez, the James T. Doluisio Regents Professor in the College of Pharmacy, was recognized for pioneering contributions concerning genome instability, particularly by demonstrating that non-canonical DNA structures can be mutagenic, and for discovering new roles for DNA repair factors.

She identifies three areas of research focus on her website including:

  • DNA structure in genomic instability and human disease.
  • Molecular mechanisms of DNA damage recognition and repair.
  • Novel strategies to modify gene structure and function in living organisms.

AAAS fellows are chosen annually by their peers to distinguish individuals who are members of the association cited for “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications which are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

Vasquez is joined by four other UT Austin faculty members  in fellow selection by AAAS this year including from the College of Natural Sciences, Richard Warren Aldrich, professor of neuroscience, and Stanely Roux, professor of molecular biosciences; and from the Cockrell School of Engineering, Roger T. Bonnecaze, professor of chemical engineering, and Aramugan Manthiram, professor of mechanical engineering.