Horns take NCPA honors

Members of NCPA chapterThe UT student chapter of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) was named recipient of the Outstanding NCPA Student Chapter of the Year at the national association’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

The award is based on activities during the preceding school year including the number of community service projects, guest speakers at meetings, fundraising, attendance at national NCPA meetings, and promoting pharmacy ownership. The chapter received a cash prize with the award.

The local chapter was also cited to receive NCPA’s Health & Wellness Challenge Award while three Longhorn student pharmacists received NCPA Presidential Scholarships.  Recipients include Cody Gummelt (president), Lynn Pham (legislative affairs chair), and Timothy Phan.

The chapter was named eighth runner up in the Good Neighbor NCPA Pruitt-Schutte Student Business Plan Competition.  Dr. Nathan Pope serves as faculty adviser for the chapter.

In other news from the NCPA meeting, Lonnie Hollingsworth, B.S. ’57, received the Outstanding Board Service Award from the Community Pharmacy Foundation.