Alumni Association honors three

Photo of alumni awardeesBethany Boyd, Paul Davis and Rebecca Attridge have been announced as recipients of 2015 recognition by the College of Pharmacy Alumni Association.

– Bethany Boyd, B.S. ’88, M.S. ’94 and Ph.D. ’97, will receive the William J. Sheffield Outstanding Alumnus Award

– Paul F. Davis, B.S. ’70, has been named the 2015 Legends of Pharmacy, and

– Rebecca Attridge, Pharm.D. ’08 and M.S. ’10, will receive the Distinguished Young Alumnus Award.

The presentations will be made at the annual Alumni Reception & Awards Ceremony on Friday, November 6.  The event, scheduled for the UT Club on the Austin campus, officially kicks off pharmacy homecoming weekend 2015.

Bethany Boyd – William J. Sheffield Outstanding Alumnus Award

Bethany Boyd photoBethany Boyd, B.S. ’88, M.S. ’94, and Ph.D. ’97, has been active in professional pharmacy association leadership at the local, state, and national levels. She has served, among other roles, in the American Pharmacists Association as speaker and speaker-elect of the House of Delegates (1999-2001) and as member of the Board of Trustees (1999-2001); in the Texas Pharmacy Association as vice president (2004-2005) and as a member at large of the Board of Directors (2003-2004). She has served on the board of directors in the El Paso Pharmacy Association (2005-2009), the Dallas County Pharmacy Association (2009-present) and the Bexar County Pharmacy Association (1998-2001). She was president-elect and president of the Dallas County Pharmacy Association (2012-2014). She has been a member of the College of Pharmacy Alumni Association’s Executive Council since 2005 and helped establish the association’s mentoring program in 2011. She currently serves as the medical outcomes specialist for Pfizer Inc., a position she has held since 2000. In addition, she served as an adjunct clinical professor for Texas Tech School of Pharmacy and as a visiting instructor within the School of Nursing at the University of Texas at Arlington. In 2012, she was named a fellow in the American Pharmacists Association’s Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management. She has been honored as a Pfizer Value Maker (2006), as recipient of the Texas Pharmacy Association’s Individual Educational Excellence Award (2005, the Pfizer TACU of the Year Award (2004). She was cited as presenting the Outstanding Power by the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists (2004), to the Leadership Circle of The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy, and as the Texas Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year (1993). She lives in Allen with her two sons, Hayden, a junior geology major, and Graham, a freshman biology major.  They are both in the Longhorn Band, following their mom who was in the Texas Tech Goin’ Band from Raiderland in her pre-pharmacy days.

Paul Davis – Legend of Pharmacy

Paul Davis photoPaul F. Davis, B.S. ‘70, has advanced the profession through leadership in pharmacy associations. In 1972, he began service as director of public affairs with the Texas Pharmacy Association (TPA). Davis was named executive director of the Kentucky Pharmacists Association (KPhA) in 1978, a position he held until 1986 when he returned to TPA to serve first as associate executive director and later as executive director. He was named executive director of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists (TSHP) in 2003, retiring from that position in 2014. In 2010, Davis was also named executive director for the New Mexico Society of Health-System Pharmacists (NMSHP), a position he held until his retirement. At each of the organizations he worked for he was successful in increasing membership, income, member satisfaction and development of new services and programs. His honors and recognitions include: from TPA (Leadership Award, Honorary Life Member, Distinguished Service Award); from KPhA (Distinguished Service Award, Honorary Life Member); from TSHP (Board Recognition Award, Distinguished Service Award); from NMSHP (Board Leadership Award); and from The University of Texas College of Pharmacy (William J. Sheffield Outstanding Alumnus Award). In addition, he has served as vice chairman of the Board for the Texas Society Association Executives; certified association executive for the American Society of Association Executives; vice president of the National Council of State Pharmacy Association Executives; president of the UT Chapter of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity, and first president, UT Pharmacy. He married Beth Chamberlain in 1968. They have three children and three grandchildren.

Rebecca Attridge – Distinguished Young Alumnus Award

Rebecca Attridge photoRebecca Attridge, Pharm.D. ’08 and M.S. ’10, is an associate professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice at the University of the Incarnate Word (UIW) Feik School of Pharmacy in San Antonio. Among her faculty responsibilities, she serves as the residency program director for the school’s two-year pharmacotherapy residency program. In this role, she has played an instrumental role in advancing student learning through team based learning, developing a critical care elective, and securing a grant to support a study abroad program.  The Class of 2011 named her the Faculty APPE Preceptor of the Year and she was named the UIW Feik School of Pharmacy Faculty of the Year for 2013-2014.  Additionally, she serves as an adjunct assistant professor in the Division of Pulmonary Diseases and Critical Care Medicine within the Department of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio UTHSCSA). She provides clinical pharmacy services in the Medical Intensive Care Unit at University Hospital in San Antonio where she has become an integral team member as an expert in her field.  Attridge completed a two-year specialty residency in pharmacotherapy through The University of Texas at Austin and at UTHSCSA.  She has authored multiple peer-reviewed publications and eight book chapters. She is one of the editors for the recent pocket therapeutics guide, Internal Medicine: A Guide to Clinical Therapeutics. Her research interests include critical care medicine and infectious diseases.  She is married to fellow alumnus Russell Attridge, Pharm.D. ’08; M.S. ’10, who also is a UIW associate professor of pharmacy.