In Celebration of Six

In a society with a numerical system based upon 10, it’s easy for other numbers to get lost.  But not six.  Six is the only number that is both the sum and the product of three consecutive positive numbers (1+2+3=6 and 1x2x3=6).  There are six sides on a benzene ring and on a dice, six strings on a standard guitar, and six basic keys on most woodwind instruments. In the world of numbers, six is a pretty big deal.

Read more about six top successes from 2015.

#1  Interprofessional Education

Our focus on interprofessional education – a team approach to patient care – continues to help shape a new model of health care.  In 2015, the college hosted an exceptional interprofessional event – the Poverty Simulation. Plans are underway to make this an annual event.  Pharmacy and its other UT health partners in medicine, nursing, and social work are actively pursuing other opportunities to educate and train health professions students around this new, collaborative model of health care delivery.

#2  Teaching Excellence

At the core of a great academic program is great teaching.  In 2015, several pharmacy faculty members were cited for teaching excellence including Dr. Laurajo Ryan, recipient of the student-led Educator of the Year Award; Dr. Francis Lam, recipient of a Regents Teaching Award; and Dr. Lydia Aguilera, recipient of the College Excellence Award for Mentoring at UT Pan American.

#3  Exceptional Research

Dr. Maria Croyle was cited by the University Coop as having the best research paper within the university; Dr. Walt Fast was awarded $2.1 million for his efforts to counter antibiotic resistance; and Dr. Karen Vasquez was named a fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

#4  Student Initiatives

Bindia Patel was named first runner up in the American Pharmacists’ Association’s patient counseling competition while Benita Bamgbada was named winner of APhA’s Best Podium Presentation Award.  Marilyn Mootz received the RESPy Award for extraordinary humanitarian work; and the Longhorn Chapter of the National Community Pharmacists Association was named student chapter of the year.

#5  New Leadership

The university welcomed new leadership with the naming of Dr. Gregory Fenves as the 29th president of The University of Texas at Austin.  Within the college, familiar faces took on new roles through several administrative changes.

#6  Excellence Personified

Two members of the college family stood out as personifications of excellence in 2015.  Recently retired Dr. Robert Talbert was named recipient of the Paul F. Parker Medal, the highest honor bestowed by the American College of Clinical Pharmacy for a lifetime of professional excellence.  Also this year, the college lost one of its best with the unexpected passing of Dr. Leroy Knodel. The outpouring of affection and respect for his distinguished career was witnessed by the standing room only crowd at his memorial service as well as the outpouring of generous gifts to the college in his memory.