Congratulations Class of 2019

The student pharmacists of The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy finally got to remove the “student” from their title as the Class of 2019 graduated from the Doctor of Pharmacy program during the college’s commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 24, 2019 in the university’s Bass Concert Hall.

College of Pharmacy Pharm.D. Graduate Nancy Tang.

The student commencement remarks were led by Class of 2019 President and graduating pharmacist Lubna Mazin, and the commencement speaker was Dean and Distinguished Professor from the University of Florida College of Pharmacy Julie A. Johnson, Pharm.D.

John H. Richburg, Ph.D. and commencement speaker Julie A. Johnson, Ph.D.

The festivities also featured remarks from Dean M. Lynn Crismon, announcement of college awards, the hooding of degree candidates, the recitation of the Oath of a Pharmacist, and a rousing rendition of “The Eyes of Texas.” The newly-hooded pharmacists poured out into the plaza and greenery around Bass Concert Hall to celebrate with friends, family, and well-wishers to express high hopes for the future after graduating from one of the most prestigious pharmacy programs in the world.

Dean Bryson M. Duhon, Pharm.D. guiding the processional.

Congratulations to the College of Pharmacy Class of 2019. The college knows you’ll go on to do tremendous things and truly change the world.

Class officers Lubna Mazin, Melissa Lynn Kang, and Lindsey Taylor Groff.

College of Pharmacy 2019 Class Officers


Lubna Mazin – Lubna Mazin will complete a two-year Health-System Pharmacy Administration and Leadership residency at Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio and will attend the Ohio State University to receive a Master of Science in Health-System Pharmacy Administration. During her time at the College of Pharmacy, she received the United States Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Award and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists CEO’s Award for Courageous Service for her leadership in Operation Naloxone. She completed her honors thesis investigating naloxone education in opioid overdose reduction under the mentorship of Dr. Lucas G. Hill. Some of her leadership roles within the college included College of Pharmacy Representative for the University of Texas at Austin Student Government, Operation Naloxone Student Director, and Fitness and Wellness Co-Chair.

Vice President

Melissa Lynn Kang – Melissa Kang was actively involved in multiple organizations at the local, state, and regional level, which culminated in her roles as President of Pharmacy Council and Region 6 Liaison of Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Honor Society. Additionally, she served on college-wide and faculty search committees alongside deans, faculty, and alumni. Melissa will start a new chapter in Boston, Massachusetts, as a Post-Doctoral Fellow with Biogen Worldwide Medical and adjunct faculty member with the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Science.


Lindsey Taylor Groff – Lindsey Groff had a variety of leadership responsibilities during her time in pharmacy school. Most notably, Lindsey served as the president of the Student College of Clinical Pharmacy, which won the Outstanding National Chapter of the Year under her leadership. In addition, Lindsey was heavily involved in research projects targeting naloxone access and antibiotic stewardship, and successfully published research findings (along with her research team) in JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association. Lindsey attributes much of her success to her mentors and family who have supported her throughout her pharmacy career. Lindsey will continue her training as a PGY1 resident at the Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center in Columbus, Ohio.