Mahmoud El-Halwagi

The McFerrin Professorship

Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering

Research Group Website



  • Ph.D., University of California – Los Angeles (1990)
  • M.S., Cairo University (1986)
  • B.S., Cairo University (1984)


  • Process synthesis, simulation, design, operation, integration, optimization and product design
  • Development of systematic methodologies that enable chemical engineers to identify optimum, sustainable, and creative strategies that lead to productivity enhancement, yield improvement, debottlenecking, pollution prevention and energy conservation
  • Sustainable design of integrated biorefineries, oil and gas processes, and chemical process industries

Awards & Honors

  • Fellow, American Institute of Chemical Engineers (2014)
  • Celanese Distinguished Teaching Award (2013)
  • Distinguished Achievement Award in Teaching – University Level, the Association of Former Students, Texas A&M University (2012)
  • Texas Engineering Experiment Station (TEES) Faculty Fellow Research Award (2012)
  • Excellence and Service Award (as Chair of the Computing and Systems Technology Division), the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (2011)
  • Faculty of the Year Award, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers Student Chapter, Texas A&M University (2011)
  • AIChE Sustainable Engineering Forum (SEF) Research Excellence Award (2009)
  • Student Led Award for Teaching Excellence (SLATE) (2009)
  • The Fluor Distinguished teaching Award (2008)
  • Texas A&M’s Association of Former Students- College-Level Distinguished Achievement Award (2007-2008)
  • Named Honorary Professor at Zagazig University, Egypt (2003)
  • The McFerrin Professorship, Chemical Engineering Department, Texas A&M University (2002)
  • The Walker Superior Teaching Award, School of Engineering, Auburn University (2002)
  • The Outstanding Faculty Member Award, School of Engineering, Auburn University (2002, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1993, 1991)
  • Auburn University Senior Faculty Research Award (2001)
  • Favorite Educator of the Year, The Mortar Board National Society (2000)
  • National Science Foundation, National Young Investigator Award (1994)