Witold Pilecki International Book Award

Deadline: June 13, 2021

Ladies and gentlemen!

In 2021 we celebrate the 120th anniversary of the birth of Witold Pilecki. On this occasion we are inaugurating the Witold Pilecki International Book Award and launching its first edition. The partner of the award is the Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum in Oświęcim.

We invite you to send in submissions.

The prize will be awarded in three categories:

  1. Academic history book – the best monograph or synthesis concerning the Polish experience of the confrontation with two 20th-century totalitarian regimes.
  2. Historical reportage – a captivating depiction of the Polish experience of two 20th-century totalitarianisms. In addition to classic historical reportages, entries in this category may include biographies, collections of accounts, memoirs and correspondence of witnesses to history.
  3. The special prize for war correspondents – awarded for books which provide reliable information concerning ongoing military conflicts or places where human dignity is particularly endangered. In the face of the current crisis of traditional media, we support authors who take risks to disseminate knowledge, appeal to a conscience, and issue warnings for the future.

Eligible for the competition are the books whose first edition was published in 2020 (in Polish or English). The winners in each category will receive PLN 75,000 (ca. EUR 17,000) and a commemorative statuette.

Entries for the competition may be submitted by authors, publishers, private persons/natural persons, legal persons, or organizational entities devoid of legal personality, this by sending the electronic edition of a book (in PDF format) to the e-mail address: award@instytutpileckiego.pl, or three hard copies thereof to the address: Pilecki Institute, ul. Sienna 82, 00-815 Warszawa, with the annotation “Pilecki Book Award”. Please indicate the category of the submission.

Deadline for submitting applications: 13 June 2021.

For more information visit the website: