Prof. Dev: NAATPl Instructor Award for Exemplary Teaching and Learning Materials

Deadline: November 15, 2021

The North American Association of Teachers of Polish is pleased to announce a competition for the best teaching resources:

NAATPl Instructor Award for Exemplary Teaching and Learning Materials

The NAATPl Award aims to recognize and promote outstanding resources designed to enhance teaching and learning at all levels of instruction (K-16). The Award carries an amount of $500, and a Certificate of Recognition in the two following categories:

K-12 teachers including community/Saturday school teachers
Higher-education language instructors

Submission Guidelines & Criteria:

All Polish language teachers (K-16) who teach in the US and Canada are eligible to submit their teaching materials.

Submitted materials should meet the following criteria:

1. Creative and innovative supplement to existing materials
2. Based on authentic materials, if applicable/relevant to the task/purpose
3. Methodologically well organized, with clearly designed pre- and post-task activities, and teacher’s instructions
4. Tested in practice (e.g. has been used during class time and adjustments/edits have been considered)
5. Accessible online or submitted electronically to Agnieszka Jezyk at with a subject line ‘LASTNAME Instructor Award Materials’ (e.g. SMITH Instructor Award Materials)
6. Based on the ACTFL standards (noting which specific level of proficiency and skills the materials target) or in case of Elementary/Saturday Schools – the age of students
7. Non-infringing on any copyrights
8. Should involve a project that can be completed within at least one lesson or can be extended into the duration of the project

Examples of Projects/Materials:

1. A real-life project design (based on the PBL approach) that can be extended into several class units
2. Online reading comprehension materials with a set of pre-and post-task activities, with clearly defined language levels and skill sets they target
3. Lesson plans – listening comprehension with elements supporting language development
4. Culture-focused units/lesson plans that include various culture oriented tasks and topic-specific vocabulary
5. Video interviews with native speakers supplemented with transcripts and exercises

Submission Deadline: November 15, 2021
Award Winner Announcement: December 10, 2021

NAATPl Award Committee:
1. Agnieszka Jezyk, University of Toronto (Award Committee Coordinator)
2. Erik Houle, The University of Chicago
3. Małgorzata Belcik, Clearmont Elementary School
4. Joanna Pawlina, Clearmont Elementary School
5. Ewa Małachowska-Pasek, University of Michigan

In case of any questions related to the submission process please contact the Award Committee Coordinator,