Funding: American Councils Title VIII Funding Opportunities

Deadline: October 1, 2023

American Councils is once again pleased to remind you that Title VIII funding through the US Department of State supports graduate students participating in three distinct American Councils language programs. Individual scholarships can cover up to 75% of the costs of the following programs: 

Advanced Russian Language and Area Studies Program, currently offered at: 

Yerevan State University in Yerevan, Armenia  

Al Farabi Kazakh National University in Almaty, Kazakhstan  

Balkan Language Initiative, which offers the following languages and locations:    

Albanian in Tirana, Albania   

Bosnian in Sarajevo, Bosnia & Herzegovina   

Bulgarian in Sofia, Bulgaria   

Macedonian in Skopje, North Macedonia   

Serbian in Belgrade, Serbia   

Montenegrin in Podgorica, Montenegro  

Eurasian Regional Language Program, offering 15 different languages, including:    

Kazakh in Almaty, Kazakhstan   

Azerbaijani and Turkish in Baku, Azerbaijan    

Kyrgyz in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan   

Romanian and Ukrainian in Chisinau, Moldova   

Pashto, Persian (Dari/Farsi/Tajiki), and Uzbek in Dushanbe, Tajikistan   

Chechen, Georgian, and Ukrainian in Tbilisi, Georgia   

Armenian in Yerevan, Armenia 

The application deadline for Summer 2023 is February 15, 2023. 

The application deadline for Fall 2023 and Academic Year 2023-24 is March 15, 2023.  

In addition, American Councils features the Title VIII Research Scholar and Title VIII Combined Research & Language Training Programs in 2023. These programs are designed for U.S. graduate students, PhD candidates, faculty, and post-doctoral scholars seeking to complete policy relevant research overseas and improve their language skills. 

Fellowships last three to nine consecutive months and include round-trip international travel; housing and living stipends; visa support; overseas health, accident, and evacuation insurance; archive access; and logistical support. Research can be conducted in the following countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan. 

The application deadline for the Title VIII Research Scholar and Combined Research and Language Programs is October 1, 2023. 

Should you or your colleagues have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at    

Social Widgets powered by