2021 AWSS Patricia Herlihy Graduate Research Prize

Deadline: September 1, 2021

The Association for Women in Slavic Studies (AWSS) Patricia Herlihy Graduate Research Prize is awarded annually to fund promising graduate-level research in any field of Slavic/East European/Central Asian studies by a woman or on a topic in Women’s or Gender Studies related to Slavic Studies/East Europe/Central Asia by a scholar of any gender.

The AWSS graduate research prize is now supported by a recent endowment established in the name of Dr. Patricia Herlihy by her colleagues, students, and family. Dr. Herlihy made incredible contributions to the study of Ukraine and supported and mentored generations of scholars across disciplines engaged in study on Ukraine and its neighbors.

Graduate students who are at any stage of master’s or doctoral level research are eligible. Only current graduate students are eligible for this prize. The grant can be used to support expenses related to completion of a thesis or dissertation, as well as travel, services, and/or materials. The award carries a cash prize of $1000.00. Nominations and self-nominations are welcome.

A completed application consists of 1) a 2-3 page proposal that explains the project, how the funds will be used, and why this funding is necessary for continued progress on the project; 2) a CV; 3) a detailed budget and timeline; and 4) two letters of recommendation. Please submit application materials in MS Word or PDF. Winning recipients should submit a report on their use of the funds to the Committee Chair by August of the year following the receipt of the award.

Recipients must be members of AWSS; if award recipients are not current AWSS members, they must join AWSS as condition of the award. Applications are due by September 1, 2021 and must be complete by that date to be considered for the award. Letters of recommendation should be forwarded to the AWSS Graduate Prize Committee Chair directly.

Please direct all questions and send all application materials by email attachment to the
Committee Chair, Sharon Kowalsky, Associate Professor of History, Texas A&M-Commerce: Sharon.Kowalsky@tamuc.edu.